espYoungLegends 2018 – Top 20 finalists announced and public voting begins

October 10, 2017


Now in its third year, the espYoungLegends 2018 online competition has racked up an impressive array of entries. With the winner performing at Africa’s Grandest Gathering – the 19th annual Cape Town International Jazz Festival (CTIJF), taking place on 23 & 24 March 2018 – this is one prize worth competing for.  Today, espAfrika, the company behind the CTIJF, announced the Top 20 finalists that will go through to the next round.


“Selecting the Top 20 artists who will enter the first round of public voting was no easy task this year. The standard of entries has been exceptional, and shows that the jazz and jazz-related music genres are alive and flourishing in South Africa,” says Billy Domingo, COO of espAfrika and Festival Director of the Cape Town International Jazz Festival.


The espYoungLegends 2018 Top 20 finalists (in alphabetical order) are as follows:


•             Asanda Mqiki

•             Astrafunk and The Space Cats

•             Elle Deva

•             It Has To Be Jazz – Spontaneous Combustion

•             Jarrad Ricketts

•             Just 6

•             Le Mpendulo

•             Lefa Mosea & The Double Standards Quintet

•             Legato SA

•             Major 7 SA

•             Manouche

•             Maya Spector

•             Mkizwana Ensemble

•             Recycling Sound

•             Simthandile Mtolo

•             Sylvester Aklamavo & Miton Fusion Band

•             Ulagh Williams & the TwoTone Band

•             Youthphemism

•             Zama & The Alan

•             Zetina Mosia



Public voting to select the Top 10 finalists is now open at and fans have until midnight on Monday 16th October 2017 to cast their vote. The official Top 10 will be announced the following morning, on Tuesday 17th October 2017.


Thereafter, the espYoungLegends talent panel will select the Top five finalists. This announcement will be made on Tuesday 24th October 2017, with the final public voting round to follow. This year, the final decision is in the hands of the public and everyone is encouraged to vote for the next espYoungLegends winner from Tuesday 24th October until midnight 30 October 2017. 


The espYoungLegends winner will be announced on Tuesday 31st October 2017 on and across social media.



Follow espAfrika on social media:



Official hashtag: #espYL2018


Media - For further information, please contact or call: 082 339 1199

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
CTIJF2020 - LOGO.png